Wounded by Jasinda Wilder Review

16185789

War has taken everything from me. My family. My home. My innocence. In a country blasted by war and wracked by economic hardship, a young orphan girl like me has very few options when it comes to survival. Thus, I do what I must to live, to eat, and I try very hard to not consider the cost to my soul. My heart is empty, and my existence brutal.

The one impossibility in my life is love.

And then I meet HIM.

War is hell. It takes a chunk out of a man’s very soul to do the kinds of things war demands of you. You live with fear, you live with guilt, and you live with nightmares. If you haven’t been through it, there’s no understanding it. War leaves no room for love, no room for tenderness or softness. You gotta be hard, closed off, and ready to fight every moment of every day. Lose focus for a split second, and you’re dead.

Now the only thing that can save me is HER. – Goodreads

Wounded was an interesting read, but for me I feel like it fell short.

The book tells the story of Rania who in order to survive war-torn Iraq she has to become a prostitute. Rania has no one. Her whole family is dead except her brother goes off to join the insurgents. Rania’s is a fighter. I felt horrible for the moments in her life that brought her to prostitution.

“I am not a woman, I am a thing. An object, a servant for their needs. Sex is a tool.”

It was hard to read of some of the situations Rania experienced. There are many cringe-worthy moments and depictions of rape throughout this novel. If that is a hard limit for you as a reader I would suggest skipping this. It was written tastefully and not overly graphic, but it is still hard to read about.

During a shootout between American troops and insurgents, Rania finds Marine Hunter. Badly wounded and knocking on death’s door, Rania rescues Hunter and decides to treat him.

They both learn to communicate and their relationship starts to grow.

“There is so much. I had no fucking clue I could feel this way, this much. It’s like some deep well opened up inside me, and now all the love in all the world is being poured through me into her.”

I liked the idea of them together. Hunter and Rania have both witnessed the horror and destruction of war and find out that despite their differences they are very similar. What I didn’t like was the intimate scenes. Now I LOVE steamy books but knowing the life that Rania has lived and hurt she is,  I just couldn’t get into it. I guess I just felt like the girl needed more than the love of a man to heal her. And Hunter is a good guy and I liked how he felt about Rania, and saw her as more than a prostitute, but I just couldn’t get into it.

The writing I thought was great, and I felt the emotions of both characters. I think had the book been a little longer with more interaction between them, and maybe less of the sexy scenes toward the end I might have liked it better. I guess it was just too dark of novel for me to feel the peace at the end like the characters did.

3 stars*

Purchase:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

2 thoughts on “Wounded by Jasinda Wilder Review

Leave a Reply

