The Opportunist (Love Me With Lies #1)

13312527

Olivia Kaspen has just discovered that her ex-boyfriend, Caleb Drake, has lost his memory. With an already lousy reputation for taking advantage of situations, Olivia must decide how far she is willing to go to get Caleb back. Wrestling to keep her true identity and their sordid past under wraps, Olivia’s greatest obstacle is Caleb’s wicked, new girlfriend; Leah Smith. It is a race to the finish as these two vipers engage in a vicious tug of war to possess a man who no longer remembers them. But, soon enough Olivia must face the consequences of her lies, and in the process discover that sometimes love falls short of redemption-Goodreads

I’m honest when I say I wanted to throw my kindle out the window after reading this. It’s not because it was a bad book. FAR from it. It was fantastic! And if I am being more honest I hated Olivia almost immediately. But after stewing with my feelings for a while and re-evaluating my expectations I couldn’t help but feel differently towards Olivia. And after re-reading it I fell in love with Olivia ALMOST as much as Caleb.

This book is an absolute roller-coaster. There were moment when I was smiling….

“And my personal favorite, your lips.” He smiled as a pink flush crept up my neck. “Full and sensual, puckered, and always turned down at the corners. They kind of make me want to kiss them until they smile.”

Then I was screaming….

“I’m sorry, Olivia, for hurting you,” he said hoarsely and my heart heaved in mychest. Why was his voice so gentle? Why wasn’t he screaming at me? I was the onewho did the hurting. It was me. My fault. My sin. My mess. “You will never see me again after today.” He paused and his next words struck me so deeply I would never recover from them. “I will love again, Olivia, you will hurt forever. What you’ve done is…You are worthless because you make yourself that way. You will remember me every day for the rest of your life because I was the one and you threw me away.”

and finally I was a blubbering mess….

“I think that after the first time you give your heart away, you never get it back. The rest of your life is just you pretending that you still have a heart.”

So needless to say my boyfriend didn’t appreciate my reaction at 4 in the morning…..

darth-vader-no

So maybe your wondering am I a masochist? The answer is HELL YA! Because Tarryn Fisher weaves such an amazing story. It is deceptively delicious 😉

4.5 stars*

Purchase:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

