Consequences (Consequences #1)

16100228

Besieged by memories of a brutal abduction, Claire Nichols wakes in an unfamiliar bedroom, within a luxurious mansion. Her recollections have one common denominator, the man she just met, Anthony Rawlings…-Goodreads

Where do I start? Instead of giving you the background of the novel I am going to give you my reaction only.

I stumbled upon a group on Goodreads labeled Consequences Support Group and it immediately sparked my interest. I purchased the book with barely skimming the description. I figured if it already has a support group it must be worth reading. I went into this book blind and I’m glad I did because I might have been a little scared.

Aleatha Romig is a literary genius. I have experienced happiness, love, lust, fear, and sadness from books, never can I say that I experienced them all at once.

“God she hated the dance. A blow to the cheek one minute and discussing a romantic getaway the next. It was the one step forward, two steps back waltz. She wanted to scream. Sitting on the side of the bed, Claire allowed herself tears and swallowed”

I felt like I was experiencing moments bipolar/Stockholm Syndrome/multiple personality from page to page. One minute I would be in fear, in tears, afraid to turn the page, then the next I was saying ‘oh well it can’t be THAT bad’. Yes this book is a total and utter mindf*ck. Romig blew my mind away. I cannot imagine how she created Claire and Tony. Speaking of Tony….

Follow my rules: number one, do as you are told, do not divulge personal information, actions have consequences, appearances are of vital importance, and public failure is not an option.

He is cold. He is kind. He hurts. He heals. He is calculating. He is thoughtful. He is beautiful. He is ruthless. He is a fantasy. He is a nightmare. I do not think I ever understood the definition of the word paradox until Tony found his way into my heart and my fears. He is by favorite the most fascinating character I have ever had a pleasure of reading about. The lines between love and hate were so blurred it was no wonder Claire had to find a way to adapt.

“It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent; it is the one that is most adaptable to change.”
– Charles Darwin

No truer quote could ever begin to describe Claire and the her journey. I have read other opinions of her ‘putting’ up with Tony’s treatment but she is one of the smartest heroines in a book today. There were moments when her pain was so real I found myself living those emotions. My heart ached for her in ways I’m not sure I can describe. All of her actions made sense. To have imagined her handling Tony in any other way would have been such a disservice to this book.

Consequences is a book that stayed with me for days. I finished it around 4 in the morning. Fell asleep for 2 hours and awoke because I couldn’t get Tony or Claire out of my head. I immediately started book 2 ‘Truth’. I also preached about this series to anyone willing to listen to me. I am a very emotional reader but I have never experienced a more intense reaction to a book as much as I have about Consequences.

Infinite* There is no rating that could properly convey my absolute love of this book. It is a must read!

Purchase:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

