Avoiding Responsibility (Avoiding #2)

13560262

Lexi has finally given up her once destructive relationships and moved onto bigger and better things with a sexy new man in town. Just when she is starting to figure it out with him, her world is tilted once again with a phone call from none other than Ramsey Bridges. A year after his entrance into her life, Ramsey is trying to make amends and does the one thing she never expects—invites her to Jack’s wedding.

The wedding she had evaded at all costs. But no matter what she does, Lexi can’t seem to escape her past with Jack. But does she really want to?

Despite the explosive chemistry between Lexi and Ramsey, she is skeptical about trusting him after everything that has happened. When things are amiss with him, she starts questioning his motives. Can Ramsey be the one to remove Jack from Lexi’s life permanently or should she move on with her blossoming new life?-Goodreads

AHHHHH! Yup that is my reaction. This book starts up months after Lexi left Jack in the dust. She has done amazing in cutting his toxicity out of her life. That is until a phone call from Ramsey inviting her to be his date to Beckah’s and Jack’s wedding…..

Cue kicking and screaming!!!!

There were moments I wanted to throw me kindle out the window and yet I LOVED every second of it. Jack is still Jack. Sexy, dangerous and so damn selfish. Yes I still love him and so does Lexi…

“We have such a long history that when I look into his eyes that’s all I can see. I forget the stupidity of what we’ve done and who could get hurt. I just remember the man who loved me once”

I love that quote more than life itself. I think anyone that has been in a relationship that has ended experiences that. Some wounds no matter how much time has elapsed still feel fresh. For Lexi I always believe that regardless of what history she and Jack share the love that was between them doesn’t end because they do. And that is what makes their story so painful.

“I want to escape with you, Jack.””I’ll always be your escape, Lex.”

Ok so let’s get off my Jack bandwagon and discuss Ramsey….

So Ramsey since the 1st book has felt ‘off’ to me. There was something about him that put my guard up almost immediately.  Without giving the plot away I understand why I felt that way towards him. He has some big skeletons flying out of his closet. And one of them happens to be Parker, his ex-girlfriend that resembles Lexi so much it borderlines creepy. But I don’t dislike Ramsey, quite the opposite. He is flawed but he definitely has me toeing the line of ‘Team Jack’ to ‘Team Ramsey’. If only they shared a polygamous relationship….just kidding! Well maybe…

“Lexi, it is for you. I’m working to make things better for you.”

And our best gal pal Chyna is back and with a boyfriend! I know it is shocking considering her myriad of daddy issues but Chyna has grown up a lot since the last book. Unfortunately her boyfriend is hiding and skeleton in his closet that Lexi is all too familiar with….by I digress.

This book was another winner from K.A. Linde. I LOVE her characters, well except Beckah. I LOVE to hate her. Be prepared for a steamy angst filled book of love, deception and hopefully come book three a possible redemption for my beloved Jack.

5 stars*

Purchase:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

