Lying Season (Experiment in Terror #4) Review

13061289

Ama­teur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has bat­tled ghosts, fought off skin­walk­ers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she sur­vive bunk­ing down in Seat­tle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girl­friend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tor­mented by a mali­cious spirit from Dex’s increas­ingly shady past? With love and life in the bal­ance, Perry must dis­cover the truth among the lies or risk los­ing every­thing she’s ever cared about. -Goodreads

So let’s be honest here. The storytelling is EXCELLENT. The scary situations Dex and Perry get involved in are TERRIFYING. But we all know we are here because of the Dex and Perry dynamic.

“You’re the light in all this madness. You’re my light. I should have been with you…” The thought hit him as his face crumpled in amazement. “Oh God, why am I not with you?” “Because you’re an idiot,” I said.”

There is SO much that goes on in this book. We deal with current and not so current girlfriends of Dex.

“It was fucking weird. They had gone from a sickening, “in love” couple doing a duet to the complete opposite in the span of two songs. Who knew the Beatles were still so controversial.”

We deal with Perry staying with Jenn, Dex and fat rabbit. We deal with a competing television series. And on top of that we get more details on why this is happening to Dex and Perry. But on top of all that you have the relationship between Dex and Perry. I will preface this by saying that I don’t normally cry reading books. By the end of this I was a heartbroken mess. I felt like I was witnessing a trainwreck. A bipolar one at that. One moment I am thrilled beyond belief, believing there is resolution in the distance, and then the rug gets pulled from under me and I am left to wallow in Dex and Perry’s heartbreak. The reason this book is my favorite was because of all the emotions I had while reading. It was an experience that has stayed with my for months. I LOVE this book SO much that I have read it 3 times so far. I cannot get enough of that ‘high’ I feel during their moments.

“I want you to stay with me,” he said. “And that’s the problem. Every time you leave me, I need you a little bit more.”

Infinite stars*

Purchase:

Lying Season (Experiment in Terror #4) Amazon

Lying Season (Experiment in Terror #4) SmashWords

Leave a Reply

