DarkHorse (Experiment in Terror #1) Review

11356211

“With all the vampire, werewolf and faerie books out there, it’s easy to become numb to all things supernatural. The antidote? Darkhouse introduces two real and unforgettable characters, Perry Palomino & Dex Foray, amateur ghost hunters who are “attractive, relatable and oddly heroic,” “flawed but loveable,” “slightly crazy” and just the most endearing pair to ever tackle the paranormal…just don’t call them normal. Darkhouse is a thrilling and sexy new take on concepts like Supernatural and The X-Files, bringing a breath of fresh air to a genre that has been inundated with the dead.***Darkhouse and the Experiment in Terror series is a horror/romance for mature audiences only. Readers who are easily offended by harsh language should think twice about reading it.*** -Goodreads

It took me about 20% into this book before I got hooked, and boy did I ever. I immediately purchased the next 4 books in the series, and I’m awaiting the 6th book now. I have recommended this book to a ton of my friends.

The book starts out with an innocent bonfire and some exploration by our main girl Perry….little did she know who or what she was going to find……

“Somehow, by dealing with the dead, I had never felt so alive.”

While Perry is on her adventures she runs into Dex. Dex is scouting out areas that have been associated with haunting/paranormal behavior.  I do not want to go any farther in fear of giving too much away but it is full of heart stopping suspense and amazing character development.

I LOVE Perry. She is headstrong, determined and not only does she discover some haunts along her adventure, but she learns to discover more about herself.

“I used to dream big. It seemed like somewhere along the way I had forgotten about that. And gave up.”

And who can forget Dex. He is mysterious, funny and sexy. He is one of the most intriguing characters that I have the great fortune to stumble upon. I LOVE the banter between Perry and Dex. It is funny, refreshing and reading it makes me feel like I am just hanging out with my friends.

Do not let your misconceptions of the ‘horror’ genre make you fear picking this book. It will become your new best friend I promise! Not only is this book AMAZING but if you have a kindle/ereader it is free!!!

5 stars*

Reading Order and Purchase Links:

Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) Amazon

Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

